A List of Prophecies in Psalm 22

1. My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me? why art thou so far from helping me, and from the words of my roaring? (Psalms 22:1).

This was fulfilled in Matthew 27:46.

Jesus Christ felt forsaken of the Father as He hung on the cross and suffered the wrath of God against sin and died as the sinner’s substitute. The Bible says in Galatians 3:13 that Jesus actually became a curse, and suffered under the curse of the Father while bearing our sin, that we might be freed from the curse and given the blessing of Abraham, eternal life through the Holy Spirit.

2. But I am a worm, and no man; a reproach of men, and despised of the people. (Psalms 22:6).

This is an amazing prophecy, but to capture the fullness of it, we have to look at the Hebrew text behind it. The Hebrew word translated, “worm” in our Bible is actually a name of a very specific worm in Israel. It is a worm that would first be dried out, and then crushed in order to extract a red dye from. This is significant. The same Hebrew word occurs 42 times in the Old Testament, and only 8 of those times is it translated “worm(s)”. The rest of the occurrences translate it as “scarlet” and once as “crimson”. The application is tremendous: Jesus Christ was dried out in intense suffering, and was crushed like a worm under the wrath of God in order to extract the precious bright red substance from Him, His sinless blood, which would be applied to men as a precious dye to cover their sin.

3. All they that see me laugh me to scorn: they shoot out the lip, they shake the head, saying, He trusted on the LORD that he would deliver him: let him deliver him, seeing he delighted in him. (Psalms 22:7-8).

This details the intense ridicule and humility He suffered on the Cross. This was literally fulfilled in Matthew 27:39-44.

4. But thou art he that took me out of the womb: thou didst make me hope when I was upon my mother’s breasts. I was cast upon thee from the womb: thou art my God from my mother’s belly. (Psalms 22:9-10).

Jesus Christ is the only one who could say this rightfully. He was conceived by the Holy Spirit in the womb of Mary, born a sinless child, always righteous, always perfect, always trusting in God the Father in perfect obedience. Even by the time He was only 12, He was already speaking in circles around the theologians of His day about the deep things of God.

5. Be not far from me; for trouble is near; for there is none to help. Many bulls have compassed me: strong bulls of Bashan have beset me round. They gaped upon me with their mouths, as a ravening and a roaring lion. (Psalms 22:11-13).

The strong bulls of Bashan are spoken of because of the reputation of them in the Psalmist’s day as being the strongest, fiercest bulls. This is speaking of the Roman soldiers who crucified Him, who showed no mercy to their victims, but gouged them with their horns of power to pieces. Like wild beasts, they brutally tortured their victims.

6. My strength is dried up like a potsherd; and my tongue cleaveth to my jaws; and thou hast brought me into the dust of death. (Psalms 22:15).

Fulfilled, as Christ’s strength left His body. Just at the end of the horrific event, He shouted out, “I thirst” (John 19:28) just prior to His shout of victory, “It is finished!” He died and was buried.

7. For dogs have compassed me: the assembly of the wicked have enclosed me: they pierced my hands and my feet. (Psalms 22:16).

“Dogs” was a common Jewish term of insult when talking about Gentiles. The heathen Gentiles would be surrounding Christ during such sufferings, fulfilled at the Cross as the Roman soldiers crucified Him. And His hands and His feat were pierced through to the cross as the wicked gathered around Him in ridicule.

8. I may tell all my bones: they look and stare upon me. (Psalms 22:17).

Not a bone of His was broken, fulfilled in John 19:36.

9. They part my garments among them, and cast lots upon my vesture. (Psalms 22:18).

Fulfilled in John 19:24.

10. I will declare thy name unto my brethren: in the midst of the congregation will I praise thee. (Psalms 22:22).

This is speaking of His glorious resurrection after He was brought down to the dust of death. This was fulfilled literally when Christ appeared to His Jewish brethren, the Apostles, after His resurrection, when they were gathered together in John 20:26. He declared the triumph of God over the works of Satan in the midst of the church.

11. All the ends of the world shall remember and turn unto the LORD: and all the kindreds of the nations shall worship before thee. (Psalms 22:27).

This is a glorious prophecy that has been fulfilled as we look around and see all the ends of the world, the Gentile nations, remembering the death of the Son of God and believing in Him for the remission of sins. All the families of the nations are worshipping before God, and will finally worship Him forever, as in Revelation 5:9.

12. For the kingdom is the LORD’s: and he is the governor among the nations. (Psalms 22:28).

This has seen partial fulfillment already, as Gd has proven that He indeed is the King and Ruler of all the earth. Yet, it will see a more literal fulfillment during the Millennial Kingdom of Christ that will come when He returns to earth. Fulfilled completely in Revelation 19:15.

One thought on “A List of Prophecies in Psalm 22

Leave a Reply

